Role of the Internal Advisory Committee:

The Executive Committee’s function is to catalyze and stimulate research and education initiatives, and to serve as the major administrative resource for all investigators. Day-to-day governance and financial management should not require significant intervention because each Core has a defined set of responsibilities and a preset budget.  Should unusual circumstances require rebudgeting or personnel changes, however, the Executive Committee will have that power (in consultation with NIDDK Program Staff). If new personnel or budgeting changes are required by a natural course of events (e.g., a Core Director resigns voluntarily and must be replaced), or if the P.I. feels the need to rebudget by 10% or more, then the new plan will need approval by a simple majority of the Executive Committee.  More drastic changes (e.g., major budget changes or involuntary removal of a Core Director) will require approval of six of the seven members of the Executive Committee. Such actions will only occur under very unusual circumstances, but our plan provides a mechanism for removing someone who is underperforming. The requirement for such a vote will ensure general agreement before any such action is taken, and also allows for actions to be taken against any Center member, including Executive Committee members. The Executive Committee is both the working and strategic planning group for the CIHD.

The Executive Committee will meet quarterly via videoconferencing to permit Utah members and members from Harvard and the NIH to participate.  The External Advisory Board will meet in person once per year and be provided the opportunity to conference with the Executive Committee at each of the quarterly meetings.

Members of the Internal Advisory Committee:

John Phillips Ph.D., P.I., Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Hematology, University of Utah, Committee Chair

Janis Abkowitz M.D., Professor, Department of Medicine, University of Washington

Harry Dailey Ph.D., Professor Emeritus, Departments of Microbiology and Biochemistry, University of Georgia

Randall Peterson Ph.D., Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, University of Utah

Caroline Philpott M.D., Chief of the Genetics and Metabolism Section, Intramural Division, NIDDK

Wes Sundquist Ph.D., Professor, Department of Biochemistry, University of Utah

Dennis Winge Ph.D., Professor, Departments of Biochemistry and Internal Medicine, University of Utah