Membership

Criteria for Membership in the CIHD:

Members of the CIHD share a common interest in defining the role of iron and heme in normal physiology and disease.  As described above, the more senior center members have a long history of collaboration.  New applicants to the CIHD will describe in 2 pages how their current research aligns with the goals of the center.  We expect senior applicants to have a track record in iron and heme studies, a demonstrated ability to work collaboratively, and willingness to participate in Center Outreach Programs.  Established investigators from other disciplines who are changing the direction of their research will need to describe how the new research focus fits the aims of the CIHD.  We expect younger investigators to have a research program that synergizes with our aims.  All applicants will need a description of how they will benefit from participation in the CIHD and an NIH biosketch.  Details will include what Cores they plan to use and what techniques and methods they will acquire. Junior investigators will describe what additional resources available through the Enrichment and Pilot and Feasibility Programs they would likely use (e.g. mentoring, grant review) in supporting their research program.  This will provide a framework for planning meetings and workshops.

For senior investigators, documentation of research support will be required to ensure/confirm eligibility for use of cores and access to Pilot and Feasibility program funds. Junior investigator applicants will require two letters of support from a previous mentor and, if outside of the participating institutions, a letter of support from the Department Chair. Junior Investigators must indicate the senior members of the CIHD with whom they will interact.  This interaction will permit senior members to mentor junior members. The Executive Committee will review applications for membership at each quarterly meeting.

Non-members in the field will be encouraged to participate in our Outreach Programs and our annual CIHD symposium.  Cores are available to non-members; however, they will be required to pay the non-subsidized cost and their samples/projects will be performed on an as-available basis.

List of documents needed to apply for membership in the CIHD:

  • NIH Biosketch
  • Description of current research
    1. How will membership enhance research
    2. What services do you plan to use

Please send applications to: cihd@hsc.utah.edu

Current Center for Iron and Heme Disorders members:

 

Name                                                                    Institution                                                       Contact

Abkowitz, Jan U Washington Janabk@u.washington.edu
Barasch, Jonathan Columbia jmb4@columbia.edu
Barber, Matthew U Oregon Mfbarber@uoregon.edu
Christensen, Robert U Utah Robert.Christensen@hsc.utah.edu
Dailey, Harry U Georgia Hdailey@uga.edu
Desnick, Robert Mt. Sinai robert.desnick@mssm.edu
Elde, Nels U Utah Nelde@genetics.utah.edu
Guo, Feng UCLA Fguo@mbi.ucla.edu
Hamza, Iqbal U Maryland Hamza@umd.edu
Hughes, Adam U Utah Hughes@biochem.utah.edu
Kaplan, Jerry U Utah jerry.kaplan@path.utah.edu
Leibold, Betty U Utah Bleibold@genetics.utah.edu
McClain, Don Wake Forest Dmcclain@wakehealth.edu
Medlock, Amy U Georgia medlock@uga.edu
Charles Parker U Utah Charles.Parker@hsc.utah.edu
Paw, Barry Harvard Bpaw@rics.bwh.harvard.edu
Phillips, John U Utah john.phillips@hsc.utah.edu
Philpott, Caroline NIDDK CarolineP@intra.niddk.nih.gov
Prchal, Josef U Utah josef.prchal@hsc.utah.edu
Rutter, Jared U Utah Rutter@biochem.utah.edu
Sigala, Paul U Utah p.sigala@biochem.edu
Ward, Diane U Utah diane.mcveyward@path.utah.edu
Weyrich, Andy U Utah andy.weyrich@u2m2.utah.edu
Winge,  Dennis U Utah dennis.winge@hsc.utah.edu